It is illegal to smoke inside a car if any of the cars occupants are under
18. A violation carries a $100 fine.
California law prohibits driving a vehicle on a highway or off street parking
facility in a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of others or
property. California law provides severe punishment for reckless drivers
who cause others to be injured including revocation of a driver license.
Speed contests are against the law. A Court can suspend or restrict a driver
license for up to six months, impound a vehicle for up to 30 days as well
as impose fines and community service.
Riding in the trunk of a car is illegal. If a driver allows someone to
ride in the trunk, he or she has violated the law.
It is against the law to use a cell phone while driving unless you are
at least 18 and the cell phone is set up for hands free use or making
an emergency call to law enforcement. Drivers under 18 are prohibited
from talking on cell phones, texting messages or using a mobile communication
California law makes it a misdemeanor to throw anything from a moving vehicle.
The law prohibits littering or throwing lighted cigarettes from a motor vehicle.
A minor who does not posses a valid driver license may not purchase or
lease a car. The law prohibits a minor from using a false driver license
to purchase or lease a vehicle.
It is a misdemeanor to drive without a valid driver license or permit.
The law requires drivers to have their licenses in their possession while
driving. Driving with a suspended or revoked license is a misdemeanor.
Headsets or ear plugs in both ears cannot be worn while driving a vehicle
or operating a bike.